Song recommendations

Music is definitely something that has helped me conquer a lot of negative feelings, and has also made me feel more self-worthy and happy. Although some songs are made to provoke sadness the fact I can relate to them make me feel as if I am no longer alone, but there are people battling like me (and there is trust me πŸ˜‰ ). The fact that the loneliness was reducing allowed me to be more positive, therefore helping me battle through anything stood in my way.

I know that everyone likes different genres so I will try to pluck out some songs from all the genres I can think of nevertheless, I tend to find more rock, indie and metal songs directly relating to these feelings (especially since this is the music I listen to – I have managed to discover more tracks). Obviously, there are exceptions from these genres and songs I may have not heard myself, so if I haven’t mentioned any track you think would help the rest of us, make sure to leave a comment, direct message me on Instagram (@1.13am), Facebook message me (Ellie Holmes) or email me elinorholmes@hotmail.co.uk. However, apart from that I hope you guys enjoy these tracks πŸ˜‰

Please note that – not all of these songs will directly relate to depression,or not being in your best place some could simply just cheer you up πŸ™‚ )

Β Metal

  • Killpop – Slipknot (although this is a slightly softer Slipknot song it is definitely worth the listen and the lyrics can be related to at certain points or if not all points πŸ™‚ )
  • Beaten In Lips – Beartooth (Beartooth is a metal core band and their songs are pretty impressive – this one is definitely worth the listen)
  • Hater – Korn (This is a massive song for me as it has helped me so much, I remember that whenever I used to feel upset or frustrated after school, I would just run home and put it on full blast in my room – it made everything so much better)
  • Last Breath – Attack Attack! (This is a new band I have recently discovered and I thought that they had some pretty cool tracks that some metal fans may enjoy πŸ™‚ )
  • Moving On – Asking Alexandria (Some of the lyrics can definitely be related to and it is an extremely cute song :3 )
  • Skeptic – Slipknot (This is my favourite song at the moment so I had to put this on πŸ˜‰ It has some really nice lyrics to it as well – if you listen carefully)

Rock/indie

  • Can You Feel My Heart – Bring Me The Horizon (So many people do argue that BMTH aren’t rock and I accept that as you can’t really place them in a genre as they are a mixture of quite a lot of genres – nevertheless I do like their music and I just thought that I would put them in the rock section ;).)
  • Better Off Dead – Sleeping With Sirens (This is my favourite rock song at the moment nevertheless I did have to listen to it a couple of times before I got into it properly)
  • F**k you (Cee-Lo Green cover) – Sleeping With Sirens (This is an awesome cover and I do admit that I listen to it quite frequently)
  • Bulletproof love – Pierce The Veil (Pierce The Veil are a post-hardcore band but they definitely deserve a place in the rock section. The lyrics to this song are outstanding and that’s pretty much how they got there place here)
  • Stop Crying Your Heart Out – Oasis (I don’t even think I need to inform you as to why this song and band is on this playlist – because it’s Oasis?)
  • Wonderwall – Oasis (No explanation needed)
  • Teenage Daughter – Dog Is Dead (Dog is Dead are a local band for myself and they are just such nice guys who make such deep, cute music; they are definitely worth listening to :3 )
  • The Middle – Jimmy Eat World (The lyrics to this song are very successful at depicting self-hope and giving you confidence to continue with your battle)
  • Ain’t No Friend – Lower Than Atlantis (Lower Than Atlantis are an alternative rock bands and they have some really inspiring songs to tune in to.)
  • Woo Woo – Biffy Clyro (I used to be addicted to this band and I suppose I still can’t resist listening to their songs. They seem like generally such nice guys who make such incredible music.)

Punk

  • Therapy – All Time Low (The lyrics to this song can be related to by so many teenagers (and perhaps adults) all over the world and this song is definitely worth the listen if you maybe want something to relate to)
  • Adam’s Song – Blink-182 (Although this song is quite depressing and the lyrics are quite upsetting it is definitely a song to listen to, and despite the fact it is an amazing song in some ways I really hope you guys can’t relate to it…)
  • In Too Deep – Sum 41 (Sum 41 are such a cool band and pretty much all their songs are worth the listen, so make sure to check them out when you a moment to spare)
  • Why Worry – Set It Off (Set It Off are a relatively new band but I can already predict that soon they may be pretty big in the punk industry)
  • There’s A Good Reason These Tables Are Numbered Honey, You Just Haven’t Thought of It Yet – Panic!At The Disco (A lot of their songs have a quite happy feel (- with the instruments and rhythm)to them; despite the fact that some lyrics don’t necessarily represent the tune. This song and pretty much all their other songs are very successful at cheering people up, so whenever you feel down make sure to give them a listen.)
  • The Hunter – Slaves (I’m going to see this band when they are on tour soon and I just adore their music so, ye πŸ˜‰ )
  • Tell Me I’m a Wreck – Every Avenue (This also used to be a favourite of mine and it is a good song)

Pop

  • Same Love – Macklemore & Ryan Lewis ft. Mary Lambert (I think that no matter your sexuality this song is a really cute one to support equality and no matter what, it can help you love yourself even when you may think others do not – which for your information I’m sure they do ;).)
  • The Show – Lenka (This song used to get me through a lot even though I’m not a massive pop fan.)
  • Broken Strings – James Morrison & Nelly Furtado (This is quite an old song but still a good one)
  • F***k you – Lilly Allen (The tune to this song is so catchy and I suppose you could say it’s a good way to release anger, I don’t know aha, sorry – I don’t really know what to say xD )
  • Pack Up – Eliza Doolittle (This was such a popular song a while ago and I think we can definitely bring it back;) )
  • Cooler Than Me – Mike Posner (No explanation needed)
  • Riptide – Vance Joy (This just has a really cute tune to it.)

– Discover some new music to cheer you up and give you positive thoughts –

ily,

Ellie (:

3 comments

  1. smilesifyXO · April 16, 2015

    I like how you have such a wide variety of music that you love! πŸ™‚ That is kind of how I am too πŸ™‚ Nice recommendations!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Envy · April 21, 2015

    I listen to music a lot when I’m feeling blue. I actually felt terrible before I read this post. Now I’m listening to a few of these songs and I’m feeling a little better already. Thanks for making this great list πŸ™‚

    x Envy
    Picking up the Pieces

    Liked by 1 person

    • oceanioa · April 21, 2015

      Thank you so much for your comment and I am very happy to hear that these song recommendations have helped you feel a bit better ☺️ I hope my other posts help you equally as much.
      stay strong,
      Ellie x

      Like

Leave a Reply

